New Underrepresented in Medicine (URM) Oversight Committee Appointed

Oct. 30, 2019 — STFM is pleased to announce that the members of the new Underrepresented in Medicine (URM) Oversight Committee have been appointed. The URM Oversight Committee is chaired by Edgar Figueroa, MD, MPH, Director of Student Health, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York. 

This new committee, supported by the STFM Foundation, has been convened to guide the progress of the Underrepresented in Medicine Initiative work. The URM Initiative is developing, disseminating, and executing strategies to increase the diversity of family medicine educators and promote health equity in the following four focus areas:

  • mentorship
  • leadership
  • URM faculty pipeline
  • scholarship. 

Work Group Leaders for each of the four Focus Areas will lead the development of strategies and measures for their Focus Area with the help of a small work group team. The entire Oversight Committee, which includes the Work Group Leaders, will guide the progress of the work in the four Focus Areas and communicate with STFM members and the STFM Foundation about the work being done.


STFM URM Initiative

The STFM Underrepresented in Medicine (URM) Initiative, supported by the STFM Foundation, aims to:

  • Increase the percentage of URM family medicine faculty, and
  • Increase the number of solutions-focused, adaptable URM leaders within and across our healthcare system

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) definition of underrepresented in medicine is:

"Underrepresented in medicine means those racial and ethnic populations that are underrepresented in the medical profession relative to their numbers in the general population."

Learn more about the URM Initiative

URM Oversight Committee Members

Edgar Figueroa, MD, MPH
Director of Student Health
Weill Cornell Medical College

Judy C. Washington, MD
Associate Director
Overlook Medical Center Family Medicine Residency

Leadership Work Group Leader
Elizabeth H. Naumburg, MD
Associate Dean, Advising
Professor of Family Medicine
University of Rochester School of Medicine

Mentorship Work Group Leader
Kathryn Fraser, PhD
Behavioral Medicine Coordinator
Halifax Medical Center Family Medicine Residency

Scholarship Work Group Leader
Cesar A. Gonzalez, PhD, LP, ABPP
Associate Program Director, Family Medicine Residency,
Associate Professor, College of Medicine and Science
Mayo Clinic

URM Faculty Pipeline Work Group Leader
Maili Velez-Dalla Tor, MD
Program Director
Emanate Health Family Medicine Residency Program

David A. Acosta, MD
Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
Association of American Medical Colleges




Byron Jasper, MD, MPH, AAHIVS
Comprehensive Medical Mentoring Program (CMMP)
Founder and Executive Director

Danielle Jones, MPH
Manager, Center for Diversity and Health Equity
American Academy of Family Physicians

Leon McCrea, II, MD, MPH
Program Director, Family Medicine Residency
Associate Professor, Department of Family, Community & Preventive Medicine
Assistant Dean of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Drexel University College of Medicine

Staff Lead:
Emily Walters
Writer/Project Manager
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)

Mindy Householder
Development Manager
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Foundation

Mary Theobald
Deputy Executive Director
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)

Vince Munoz
Membership Marketing Specialist
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)

Contact Us

11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211





July 17: Nominations Due for the National Summit on the Future of Residency Training

July 27: Nominations Due for the Bishop Society

August 17: Nominations Due for F. Marian Bishop Leadership Award

September 25: Nominations Due for STFM CPQI Steering Committee

October 15: Nominations Due for the Advocacy Scholarship for New Faculty

November 18: Deadline to Submit Proposals to the STFM Project Fund