Emerging Leaders Fellowship


Johnny Tenegra, MD, chair

Southern Illinois University, Decatur

Dr Tenegra is an assistant professor at the Southern Illinois University Family & Community Medicine Residency Program in Decatur, Illinois. He enjoys practicing full-spectrum family medicine, with interests in procedures, pediatrics, and women’s health.  As faculty, he engaged learners through establishing new and sustainable curricula for scholarly activity, point of care ultrasound, and medical student education. He is a graduate of the STFM Emerging Leaders Fellowship class of 2020.  His leadership interests include vision building, creating an innovative workplace culture, forming coalitions, and sustainable leadership.

Joanna Drowos, DO, MPH, MBA

Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine

Dr Drowos is an associate professor of Integrated Medical Science at the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine at Florida Atlantic University. She serves as associate chair of the Integrated Medical Science Department and the director for the Clinical and Preventive Medicine Clerkship. She is board certified in Preventive Medicine, Family Medicine and Medical Quality. Her scholarly interests include public health and preventive medicine, primary care focused curricula and faculty development for community-based preceptors.

John Frey, MD

University of Wisconsin

Dr Frey is an Emeritus Professor of Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Wisconsin. He taught at the University of Massachusetts and the University of North Carolina, directing the Faculty Development fellowship program. He was editor of Family Medicine and is an associate editor of the Annals of Family Medicine and a consultant to the National Library of Medicine. Dr Frey is an STFM past president and recipient of the Lynn and Joan Carmichael Award and the F. Marian Bishop Leadership Award.

Rosanne Illes, PhD

Florida State University FMR

Dr Illes is the director of Behavioral Medicine and clinical associate professor at the Florida State University College of Medicine FMR. She is the chair of Florida State University’s GME subcommittee on Wellness and has co-led the Wellness committee for her program. She has been in leadership roles in national and local organizations and is currently the chair of the Diversity and Disparity Committee of the Association of Psychologists in Academic Health Centers. She provides mentorship and leadership training to residents and colleagues.