Academic Family Medicine Advocacy Committee

The Academic Family Medicine Advocacy Committee represents the interests of family medicine by monitoring and advocating academic family medicine positions to appropriate government agencies.

STFM Representative

Joseph Gravel, Jr, MD

Medical College of Wisconsin

STFM Representative

Andrea Anderson, MD

George Washington University

STFM Representative

Christopher Morley, PhD

SUNY Upstate Medical Center, Syracuse, NY

ADFM Representative

Elissa Palmer, MD

University of Nevada

ADFM Representative

Terry (Terrence) Steyer, MD

Medical University of South Carolina

ADFM Representative

Allen Perkins, MD, MPH

University of South Alabama

AFMRD Representative

Deborah S. Clements, MD

McGaw Northwestern Family Medicine Residency at Lake Forest

AFMRD Representative

Wendy B. Barr MD, MPH, MSCE

Greater Lawrence Family Health Center FMR, Lawrence, MA

AFMRD Representative

Steven R. Brown, MD

University of Arizona

NAPCRG Representative

Niharika Khanna, MS, MBBS, DGO

University of Maryland

NAPCRG Representative

Tyler Barreto, MD

Sea Mar Community Health Centers Program, San Antonio, TX

NAPCRG Representative

Winston Liaw, MD

University of Houston College of Medicine

AAFP Representative

Stephanie Quinn

Director, Government Relations at American Academy of Family Physicians

American Academy of Family Physicians

AAFP Representative

Karen B. Mitchell, MD


AAFP Representative

Jeffrey J Cain, MD

University of Colorado, Denver

ABFM Representative

Robert L. Phillips, Jr. MD MSPH

American Board of Family Medicine

ABFM Representative

Warren Newton, MD

American Board of Family Medicine

ABFM Representative

John Brady, MD

American Board Family Medicine

Director of Government Relations

Hope Wittenberg, MA


Contact Us

11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211





July 17: Nominations Due for the National Summit on the Future of Residency Training

July 27: Nominations Due for the Bishop Society

August 17: Nominations Due for F. Marian Bishop Leadership Award

September 25: Nominations Due for STFM CPQI Steering Committee

October 15: Nominations Due for the Advocacy Scholarship for New Faculty

November 18: Deadline to Submit Proposals to the STFM Project Fund