Dyads Selected for STFM Antiracism Learning Collaborative

December 13, 2021—The STFM Antiracism Task Force received a  robust response to a call for applications for an Academic Family Medicine Antiracism Learning Collaborative. Twenty dyads were selected from 57 applications. Dyads include a faculty member from a family medicine department or residency program and an ally from the same program, institution, or health system. 

Selected dyads:

  • Jonisha Brown, MD, and Keyona Oni, MD, Atrium Health Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Angela Echiverri, MD, MPH, and Kaitlin HollandBerry, MD, Contra Costa Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Bari Laskow, MD, and Sudha Subramanyam, MD,  Family Medicine Residency of Idaho—Nampa
  • Theresa Nevarez, MD, MBA, and Fathima Sarah Nazarkhan, MD, Harbor UCLA Family Medicine Residency
  • Nicholas Shungu, MD, MPH, and Sean Haley, MD, MPH, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Tanya White-Davis, PsyD, and  Ellen Tattelman, MD, Montefiore Medical Center Residency Program in Family and Social Medicine
  • Ricardo Hood, MD, and Adora Otiji, MD, Ross University School of Medicine
  • Nicole Gordon MD, and Jerry Garcia, PhD, SeaMar Marysville Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Rynita Bohler, MD, and Anna Goroncy, MD, MEd, The Christ Hospital/University of Cincinnati Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Krys Foster, MD, MPH, and Danielle Snyderman, MD, CMD, Thomas Jefferson University Depart of Family and Community Medicine Residency Program
  • Emily Trambert-Kylstra, MD, MPH, and Kimberley R. Nichols, MD, UNC School of Medicine
  • Lisa Harris, DO, and Christina Kelly, MD, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
  • Charles Vega MD, and Ursula Worsham, PhD, University of California, Irvine
  • Randy Jackson Jr., MD, and Kirsten Day, MD, University of California, San Francisco
  • David Dwayne Henderson, MD, and Gian Grant-McGarvey, MD, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  • Alesia Jones, PhD, and Manorama Khare, PhD, MS, University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Colleen Loo-Gross, MD, MPH, and Samuel Ofei-Dodoo, PhD, MPA, MA, University of Kansas School of Medicine—Wichita
  • Eduardo Medina MD, MPH, and Andrea Westby, MD, University of Minnesota Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
  • Didi Ebert, DO, MPH, MS, and Melva Landrum, University of North Texas Health Science Center—Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Tiffany Ho, MD, MPH, and Laura Elizabeth Moreno, MD, University of Utah Department of Family & Preventive Medicine

The Academic Family Medicine Learning Collaborative is an IRB-approved study (approval pending) to measure the effectiveness of training and implementation of various projects and strategies to:

  • Empower and educate participants so they will identify racist structures and behaviors within their academic institutions and become leaders for change
  • Promote allyship
  • Spread effective change strategies

Between January 2022 and September 2023, selected pairs will attend two full-day in-person sessions and five virtual sessions and will work on projects to reduce racism within their institutions. Pairs will be assigned mentors who will provide guidance and expertise.

This project is supported by a grant from Adtalem Global Education Foundation.



Contact Us


11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211

(800) 274-7928